Day 24 and 5 ways I handle whole30

In the grand scheme of things doing a whole30 really is not hard; eating real whole, nutrient-dense food for 30 days is hardly the most difficult task. However, when you split the 30 days up into moments, you’re certain to find points of disheartenment and weakness.

Here are some of the ways I’ve combatted those feelings and things that have helped me handle whole30

  1. Prep. You may be wondering why I keep harping on about this but it’s the number 1 prevention of slipping up. Whether that be having meals on hand or researching an emergency place you can buy whole30 ready made meals so that when you have a moment of hunger/weakness you have a healthy meal at hand instead of going off-plan.
  2. Make whole30 and your health a priority. I don’t think I can stress this one enough. Prior to my first whole30, I came to the realization that I was not putting my health as a top priority. It was easy to blame work and life in general for keeping me too busy for focusing on what I was eating and making time for healthy activities. But being too busy is not a valid argument, it’s not about finding time, but making time. If something has got to give, ask yourself if it’s more important than your health, I think there are few things that you could say yes to, especially if we’re talking for just 30 days.
  3. Partner up. I am lucky enough to have had my husband to go through this with me for all 2.8 whole30s thus far. Support makes a huge difference, whether that be with a spouse, family member, friend or the online community. These are all strong reinforcements that can help hold you accountable for your actions, and cheer you on along the way, or can even just be an ear at 2am when you’re craving a brownie.
  4. Embrace the control. There is not much worse (to me) than feeling out of control, especially when it comes to food. And the whole30 completely eliminates that feeling for 30 days and well beyond into everyday life. This feeling of empowerment really is motivation to keep going.
  5. Spread the word. Anyone who has spoken to me recently (or reads this blog) knows that I have been harping on about all the great stuff that doing whole30 has done for me. Encouraging others, whether that means them to do a full whole30 or any small step towards better health makes the whole thing feel like it’s more than worth it.
Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,379 other followers

