Day 3, Dinner with friends and eating out on Whole30

IMG_2569w

Planning aside, eating out on whole30 or on any healthy meal plan is certainly not impossible, and well worth it for a mid-week break or any fun evening out catching up with friends. Yes!

Here’s what was on the menu, and how I switched it up to suit.

Menu item:  Teppanyaki Style Mahi Mahi  – “Teppanyaki style” a classic dish from Japan, topped with Teriyaki sauce, served with steamed vegetables, pickled ginger, sesame seeds and Jasmine rice.

Me: “I’ll have the Teppanyaki Style Mahi Mahi, no rice, no sauce and extra veg, thanks!”

IMG_2570w

I meant to bring coconut aminos to use as a sauce, however there was so much flavour in the veg, the dish didn’t need it. I felt embarrassed to take a picture of my empty plate but I have witnesses that can prove I ate it all up – it was delish!

I also had a starter of Tuna Tataki (without the sauce) but was apparently too hungry to remember to take a picture.

Oops!

It’s worth mentioning that I likely would not have done this in the first week of my first round of whole30 as I’m sure I was too scared to order something non-compliant and likely had convinced myself I would be “that girl” to the waiter. However, hindsight being 20-20 there’s nothing to be scared of, just take your time, be polite and leave a tip :)

One response to “Day 3, Dinner with friends and eating out on Whole30

  1. Leslie de Caires

    I like!! Please take me to Lemon G…. (Can I say the name??)

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,379 other followers

