Lemony Chocolate Chip Scones

Tea for Three Bird

Here they are! I found them!

Third time seems to be the charm with this recipe and my taste buds think it’s about time.

Chocolate Chips

I love traditional scones. I love them mostly because they are the perfect bed for a generous serving of strawberry preserve and clotted cream – yumm, YUMM!

These are not those scones. But I’d love it if you told me these ones sound equally as fancy.

Lemons

You see, clotted cream is not readily available in Barbados, so a girl’s gotta improvise.

Dough

See those dark spots in the dough? Don’t you worry! Those are not dry, chewy pockets of disappointment (aka raisins), no no my friend, these are the real deal. Beautiful, melt-in-your-mouth creamy chocolate goodness!

Tray time

My sister doesn’t think that chocolate belongs in scones.. She’s cray cray, but she’ll still eat them so she’s not totally gone.

Scones

I say chocolate definitely belongs in scones and so does lemon zest, and since I can easily check them off my grocery list – ta da! Scones for everyone!

Tea for Three

Slice, slather with butter and enjoy with coffee at tea time or for breakfast.

If you prefer to be super fancy I think these would also be delicious with tea sandwiches and freshly brewed loose leaf tea.

Or you could eat them right off the tray.. not that I did that or anything..

Whichever way you decide, have a wonderful, lemony, chocolatey, sunny and fun-filled weekend!

Slathered

Lemony Chocolate Chip Scones

Makes 12

110g butter

two lemons

60g caster sugar

500g flour

100g dark chocolate chips/dark chocolate, roughly chopped

5 teaspoons baking powder

pinch of salt

200ml milk

2 large eggs

yoghurt/milk/egg wash for glaze

Preheat your oven to 200ºC/400ºF and line 2 baking trays with parchment paper

Chop the butter into cubes and place in the freezer to ensure it’s extra cold

Put the sugar in a small bowl. Zest the two lemons and mix into the sugar, set aside.

Measure out the flour into a large bowl. Remove the butter from the freezer and cut/rub into the flour until most of the mixture is breadcrumb-like, with a few bits of butter the size of oats or peas.

Buttered Flour

Add the chocolate and stir to combine, then add the lemon sugar, baking powder and salt and mix well.

Make a well in the centre and add half of the milk, stir until the dough starts to come together. Pour in the rest of the milk and stir to combine.

Turn onto a generously floured work surface and kneed for a minute or so until the dough is soft and even.

Pat the dough into an inch-high disc and cut into 3″rounds, or any other desired shape, and place on prepared baking sheets.

Brush the tops of the scones with yoghurt/milk/egg wash and place in the oven.

Yoghurt

Bake for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown on top. Remove from the oven and transfer to a wire rack to let cool.

Close

6 for you and 6 to share? Don’t worry, no one else has to know there were two trays!

7 responses to “Lemony Chocolate Chip Scones

  1. Leila

    You’re killing me Mich.
    Every week the same….I am left CRAVING whatever delicious thing you made and don’t get any of it. So I’ve decided, next time you’re baking, I’m inviting myself over so that I get whatever it is hot and fresh out of the oven! (…….And then I will come on here and make everyone jealous! :) )

  2. “dry, chewy pockets of disappointment (aka raisins)” Haha, so funny!! Chocolate chips are SO much better than raisins. And I agree with you over your sister – chocolate chips definitely belong in scones!

  3. I wish I had one of these with my coffee …. RIGHT NOW! :)

  4. Pingback: Day 5 and a whole30 quote to remember | for blog's sake

  5. Pingback: Pam*B » Blog Archive » Scones de Limão e Chocolate Branco

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,379 other followers

