Mango Bread

Rum and Mango Juice

I know this post is titled Mango Bread and yet the first image I’m shoving in your face is a drink.. Why is this you might ask?

Well, it’s Friday and I’m sure you’re much more likely to want a drink than a healthy(ish) recipe for Mango Bread, yes? Yes!

Rum and Mango Juice steps

Glass of ice + shot of brown rum + freshly pressed mango juice/mango purée = absolute delight!

It’s like a spiked mango smoothie. The ice melts slowly and welcomingly, cooling the mixture as you sip. Delicious on a warm or cool evening; though I also imagine these would be a delight poolside as well.

Especially over a long weekend!

Next time I think I’ll add mint and blend the whole thing up!

Mangoes

I love mangoes – they are my favourite fruit. When I was younger my mum would cut one up for me for breakfast and place the cubes in a pretty bowl with a fork for me to enjoy – very civilized. Now that I’m an adult and have to feed myself I use a caveman-type of method where it’s just me, the mango and a knife. Equally delicious, slightly more messy.

When I see a mango in the supermarket I laugh. I laugh and think to myself “you’re not tricking me into buying you!”

(there’s a theory behind this try not to worry yet)

Because mangoes grow in such abundance in Barbados,when Mango season rolls around anyone with a tree is carting heap loads around to friends and family to get rid of them before they go to the monkeys. I therefore cannot see the logic in paying for them.

Slice it up

I was lucky enough to pay a visit to my good friend’s parents at the perfect time as they sent me home with literally a crateful! Three different kinds, two of which I used the caveman method on. The last, which were small and a bit stringy, I juiced and used as rum enhancement and also as the base flavour in this Mango Bread.

With a Cuppa

My mum’s juicer turned out a very thick juice, if your mangos are not too stringy you could puree in a blender instead.

This bread is as moist as good banana bread but boasts yummy mango flavour. Clearly it is not cake and therefore perfect for breakfast. I actually didn’t feel the need to slather this in butter but by all means slather away! After all, there’s no butter in the recipe and it’s made with whole wheat flour.

You’re a saint!

Now go make a cocktail! And bookmark this recipe for a Sunday/Bank Holiday Monday baking sesh!

mango & Mash

Mango Bread

1½ cups/7oz/220g whole wheat flour

1½ teaspoons baking powder

½ teaspoon baking soda

½ teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon ground ginger

¼ cup/60ml sunflower oil (or any other light vegetable oil)

2 eggs

1 cup/ 250ml freshly pressed mango juice/mango purée

1 banana, mashed

²⁄³ cup/6.5oz/185g brown sugar

Poof

Preheat the oven to 180°C/350°F

Grease a loaf tin and line with parchment paper

Combine all the dry ingredients in a bowl and set aside.

Oily Eggs

In a stand mixer with paddle attachment (or large bowl with hand held mixer) beat eggs and oil on medium speed until light in color and well mixed (1-2 minutes). Add the mango and egg and mix for another 2 minutes until  incorporated. Turn the mixer down to low and add half the flour mixture, once combined repeat with the other half. Add the sugar and once combined, scrape down the sides of the bowl with spatula. Turn mixer up to med-high until everything is well combined.

Battered Pan

Fresh Out

Pour into your prepared loaf tin and bake for 1hr – 1hr 10mins, until a cake tester comes out clean. Place on a cooling rack and leave to rest in the tin for 15minutes, remove carefully and let fully cool on wire rack. Slice and enjoy!

8 responses to “Mango Bread

  1. Natalie

    You have inspired Joe to try a new rum drink! Loving the blogs! I’m saving up for a B’dos trip so I can try out all your baking skills have to offer!!

  2. I can’t say I have ever had mango bread, but it sounds delicious!! So does that drink!

  3. Auntie Barbara

    I made the mango bread and it was very tasty. Many thanks for the recipe, Michelle.
    Note to all readers: You do NOT have to wait until it has been fully cooled to eat……

  4. Mmmmm… I’m definitely on a mango kick these days — I’m going to have to try this! Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,379 other followers

