Midweek Red Velvet Cake

IMG_2081

I’m the type of person who forgets to pack shoes for the pool.

I’ll arrive late (as usual) and am left with the option to either strut my stuff on deck in the 5″ wedges I’ve worn to work, or wander around barefoot with an awkward expression that pleads “I promise I’m not homeless!”

I’m really not, my home is lovely.

IMG_2004

I also somehow manage to almost always misplace my keys.. Which are almost always later found in my bag. Yet I consistently have a mini panic attack at the thought that I will have to sleep at the Aquatic Centre.

At least that look would go with my barefeet, right?

This week I’m taking a break from swimming and other extracurricular activities having just made it through a brutal 4 day weekend.

My Easter days were filled with water polo watching, the Easter bunny, free carrots, chocolate eggs, hours of sun soaking, late night planking competitions and dancing – a lot of dancing.

Tough life, I know.

IMG_2000Having a bit of free time, I’m hoping to relax and catch up with some friends in from overseas.

Mmm midweek drinks? Yes please!

IMG_2009

Tuesday night, however, my mum asked me to make a cake for a leaving do she helped host for a friend.

Cream cheese frosting for dinner? Don’t mind if I do!

It was nice to bake on a Tuesday night (surely this is what Martha Stewart does?)

Although I stayed up way too late waiting on the cakes to cool, the kitchen was nice and quiet and I managed to get in the Easter masterclass episode of The Great British Bake Off while the cakes were chillin’.

Midweek WIN!

IMG_2049

I know Tuesday isn’t actually midweek at all but it’s a short week so I was overly happy and optimistic!

Maybe Tuesday/midweek baking will take off and become a “thing”! Or is it a thing already? Maybe I should have done some research..

Note to self: Call Martha

IMG_2072

There is something really fancy-feeling about Red Velvet anything, but luckily this recipe is nice and simple – so if you’re feeling for a little week night cream cheese frosting fix, have a midweek celebration or just a bit of free time, get baking!

Your mum and all her friends will love you. A lot!

IMG_1996

Red Velvet Cake

Adapted from The Hummingbird Bakery Cookbook

Cake –

120g of butter, softened

300g of caster sugar

2 eggs

20g of cocoa powder

heaped ¼teaspoon of red gel food colouring (or 4 tablespoons of the liquid kind)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

240ml milk + 2 teaspoons cider vinegar, left for 5 minutes (homemade buttermilk)

300g flour

1 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon baking soda

3 teaspoons cider vinegar

Preheat the oven to 175ºC (350ºF) and butter two 8″ round layer cake tins liberally, add parchment rounds and another butter layer.
Put the butter and sugar in a freestanding mixer with paddle attachment. Beat on medium speed until light and fluffy, around 5 minutes. Add the eggs one at a time and beat until well incorporated.

In a small bowl, mix the food colouring and vanilla extract into the cocoa powder to make a thick paste. If it’s too powdery, add a little water.

Add to the butter mixture and beat on medium until the pretty marbled mix has blended into an even deep pink colour. Scrape the sides of the bowl to be sure all the paste has been mixed in.

Turn the mixer down to low speed and add half the milk mixture. Beat until incorporated. Add half the flour, beat until incorporated and repeat with the rest of the milk and flour.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl, turn the mixer up to high speed until the batter is smooth and well mixed, about 2 minutes.

Turn the mixer down to low and and add the salt, baking soda and vinegar until blended. Mix on high again for another 2 minutes.

Divide the batter between the tins and bake for 30-35 minutes or until cake tester comes out clean and the sponge bounced back when touched lightly.

Leave the cakes to cool in their tins for 10 minutes, then turn out onto wire racks to cool completely.

When the cakes have cooled completely wrap them securely with plastic wrap and place in the fridge for half an hour to firm up (if you’re getting sleepy stick em in the freezer for ten) and start the frosting

IMG_2036

IMG_2043

IMG_2051

Frosting –

480-600g icing sugar (the recipe called for 600g, but I only had 480g.. I still ate copious amounts of it,  I’m well past convinced any ratio of butter, sugar and cream cheese would be delicious)

100g unsalted butter, softened

250g cream cheese, cold

¼teaspoon of cinnamon

Beat butter and icing sugar with the paddle attachment on low speed until a sandy consistency is formed.

Add the cream cheese all in one go and mix until completely incorporated. Turn the mixer up to high speed and beat until light and fluffy, 2-5 minutes. Be careful not to over beat – if the mixture looks too soft after 2 minutes stick in the freezer for  5 and beat again. (Don’t be fooled that evenings in Barbados are always cool). Add the cinnamon and beat until evenly distributed.

IMG_2044

IMG_2054

IMG_2058

IMG_2061

Assembly – 

Take the cakes out of the fridge/freezer and trim any uneven doming off the tops. (Or you could cheat by using a plate with a sunken middle that the muffin top can sit in, probably a little annoying for the cake cutter but not enough for them to hate you)

Spread a quarter to a third of the frosting on the first layer and top it with the second one. Spread frosting around the whole cake and make pretty patterns with your spatula or cover in your favourite sprinkles.

Ta-da! Time to eat leftover cream cheese frosting!

IMG_2074

ps – If you’re not keen on frosting for dinner (aka you’re crazy), divide the batter between three layer tins instead of two and you’ll have enough frosting for a 3-layer cake. Spread a quarter of the mixture between each layer and use the remaining on the outside of the cake.

8 responses to “Midweek Red Velvet Cake

  1. Jess Gale

    Love Red Velvet! Your blog looks great! I will enjoy reading and drooling over your amazing baking as usual! Good luck! xox Jess

  2. Leslie de Caires

    I’m the Mum! All my friends loved, loved loved the cake! Yum…my

  3. Tracey

    So it looks like your ‘clever’ best friend who aggressively complained about “not being notified on your blog updates!” JUST didn’t click on the confirm email as was clearly requested!

    So as your newest blog follower and number one fan, I’ve decided to “leave a reply” for the first time :)

    This blog is amazing and uplifting! I caught up on your last few post this morning early and felt the urge to immediately jump up and make pancakes – that an because I couldn’t convince anyone to make them for me of course! As I stirred the perfect proportion of water and Aunt Jemima pancake mix ratio, I thought about how extremely proud you make me! You are an extraordinary woman and all round ridiculously talented!!!

    So in honour of the fact that I’m hoping your next post is going to be something deliciously “cheesy”…
    I thought I’d share with the blogging world that this Blog and You ‘Bake’ me very Happy!!!!!!

    As the lovely Julia Child would say:
    “Find something you’re passionate about and keep tremendously interested in it.”

    You continue to inspire me everyday. I can’t wait for your next post my darling!!! Great stuff!!!!

    Love you forever!!!! xxxxxxxxx

    • We will find pancake elves one day, one day! I hope yours were thoroughly drowned in honey and that you shared with Pips!
      Cheese will come don’t you worry, and there will be plenty of it!
      And Trace if the email ever fails I will be posting my blog on your Facebook, twitter, Instagram and blowing up your phone with the link! Fear not my number one fan!
      Love you like I love cake! Xxxx

    • Leila

      Love the Julia Child quote :)
      Also, I just wanted to get in on the love fest that was happening above.

  4. Pingback: Day 5 and a whole30 quote to remember | for blog's sake

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email!

Join 1,379 other followers

